Team South Africa


Team eThekwini

The City of Durban (eThekwini Municipality) once again will field a young ladies team to the One Nation Cup in Japan – the 2018 edition.

The City has a proud tradition of having competed in every single ONC held in Bremen, South Africa and Turkey. We now proudly will join hands as the African representatives in Japan.

Durban as a City places a huge emphasis in Sport Development of our youth and are excited that once again we will compete on the International stage. One of our aims in sport is to address Gender equity therefore we will be sending a Female team for the second consecutive tournament.

The Sport Development and Recreation Department started with preparations for 2018 One Nation Cup since February 2018 where selections took place with representations from 110 wards. It was not an easy task for officials who were conducting the selections as they discovered many young talent within the eThekwini boundaries.  Team trainings took place at least 3 times per week where the coaches put their young charges through their paces.

Yolanda Nduli (DF), Zandile Zindela (Mid), Asanda Hadebe (ST), Banele Madondo (ST) and Zime Buthelezi (DF) were part of the 2016 squad which went to Germany at the tender age of 11years and they bring their experience to the rest of the team, leading the squad of 2018.

SAFA eThekwini appointed Thinasonke Mbuli (Head coach) and Siyabonga Malinga (Assistance Coach) who were also part of the technical team for 2016 ONC tournament. These two seasoned coaches will lead their team with pride.

Lungelo Mhlongo (a young intern) from Sport Development and Recreation Department has been appointed as the Project Manager and the Manager of Team eThekwini.

Santhrasegran  (Ravi)  Subramoney Manager of Sport Development and Recreation Department is the Head of Delegation.

The 21 member delegation will also include two Councillors from the political leadership, who will join us and provide an oversight role.

We wish the organisers from Japan all the best and see you in May 2018.


Halala eThekwini!